The CA Vehicle Code (CVC) Section 22348 (c), Speed Laws, mandates that vehicles that fall under CVC Section 22406, Other Speed Laws, must use the “…lane designated pursuant to Section 21655… or when there is no lane designated, “…in the right-hand lane for traffic or as close as practicable to the right-hand edge or curb.”
When there are four or more lanes headed in the same direction, the driver may use the second lane to pass or overtake another vehicle. That’s why many truckers consider this lane violation as a third lane violation because they are forbidden from using the third lane.
The Differential Speed Limit Creates the Lane Violation
Unlike many other states, California has a maximum speed limit of 55 mph for most commercial vehicles, vehicles with more than two axles, or vehicles towing another vehicle. Many drivers are convinced this speed law differential leads to delays and traffic jams, particularly at entrance and exit ramps, where the first lane is filled with vehicles that fall under CVC 22406.
These are mostly big vehicles that are difficult to see around to get out on the freeway. Therefore, it not only frustrates commercial drivers but the four-wheel vehicle drivers who can’t see around them, as well.
The Fine for a Lane Violation
The fine for a designated lane violation is typically about $238, depending on the county. It might be tempting to pay the fine and “keep on trucking.” Still, CDL holders must challenge every traffic ticket to keep their motor vehicle driving (MVR) clean in CA, and more importantly, their Pre-Employment Screening Program (PSP) record spotless.
Many novice drivers do not realize until it is too late that even one minor infraction while driving could cost them a high-paying driving job with a large firm after the first year of driving. It is one of the reasons the trucking industry turnover rate hovers around 90% for larger firms.
Nobody wants to be stuck in those low-paying, dead-end jobs after the first year of spending 55 or 60 hours a week driving and too many weeks away from home. Don’t let a lane violation ticket hold you back, hire an attorney.
Traffic Attorneys Who Can Handle a Lane Violation in Riverside County, CA
Contact Bigger & Harman, (661) 349-9300. Se habla Español (661) 349-9755.
We handle only alleged traffic violations, roadside violations, and DMV NOTS hearings for California drivers. Let’s talk. Give us a call or send us an email to discuss your situation.
The 2019 CA Commercial Driver Handbook.pdf
CVC Section 22348 (c) & 22406, Other Speed Laws