DMV Hearings in California
Preparation is Key - Contact Our DMV Hearing Attorneys Today
In typical cases when an individual is subject to disciplinary action against their privilege to drive the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) has the right to revoke an individual’s license. However, a person has the right to a hearing in-order to present their case in the best light. If you have been subject to disciplinary action against your privilege to drive, you have 10 days from the moment you were notified to request a hearing with the DMV. Once you receive the notification you may request a hearing either by telephone or written request.
Why Do You Need a DMV Hearing Attorney?
- While you are not required to be have an attorney present during a DMV hearing, you do have the right to have an attorney and seek legal counsel for the matter at hand.
- It is because of this that you should contact a Kern County traffic ticket attorney today to receive the best possible outcome in your DMV hearing.
- At Bigger & Harman, APC. our attorneys can guide you through the entire process and navigate you through the nuances of a DMV hearing.
Contact our DMV Hearing lawyer in California today to learn more about how we can defend you.
Negligent Operator Treatment System (NOTS)
This is a point based system implemented by the DMV to count the number of operator infractions an individual has garnered. Anytime you are cited with a traffic ticket conviction and/or when a driver is noted as responsible, at fault, or a contributing factor to an accident. All of these can add up and result in disciplinary action against your license, which also includes commercial driver’s license who are at times subject to harsher penalties. Furthermore, points garnered out-of-state are subject to review under your home states point system.
While the amount of points someone garners is subject to the conditions of the offense, the DMV focuses on the amount of points someone has garnered within a certain time frame. This results in three levels of notice that are incurred upon a person’s driving privilege. Check out the State of California’s Department of Motor Vehicles website for a complete list of the applicable points that can be added to your license.
The three levels include:
- Level I – A warning letter for 2 points within 12 months, 3 points within 24 months, or 6 points within 36 months.
- Level II – A notice of intent to suspend for 3 points within 12 months, 5 points within 24 months, or 7 points within 36 months.
- Level III – Suspension/probation for 4 points within 12 months, 6 points within 24 months, or 8 points within 36 months.
Handling DMV Hearing Cases Throughout the Entire State of California!
If you are given a notice that there is impending action that will be taken against your license, it is imperative that you contact our traffic ticket attorneys today. Our DMV Hearing attorneys at Bigger & Harman, APC. are always available for our clients and are determined to get you the best possible result in your DMV hearing.
You don’t have to go at this alone, call us today at (661) 349-9300 for a free initial case evaluation.
Reasons to Choose Bigger & Harman, APC
Client Satisfaction Is Our #1 Priority
Read What Our Past Clients Are Saying
Best lawyer you can find in bakersfield.. fought 4 tickets and won all of them..- Jose
I had let a minor fix it ticket escalate into a major issue. This attorney was able to get everything taken care of quickly ...- Jocelyn Bentley
If you are a cdl driver these folks are the best when I got my invitation to me the judge I called around to see who would ...- John
Thanks so much!! I waited almost 4yrs to take care of this ticket because of the unknown. I'm so happy I found you guys while ...- D. Samuelson
My experience with working with the Bigger & Harman law firm was nothing short of excellent!- Gene P.
HIre and trust Mr. Bigger. The end result speaks for itself!- J. Dubuque