Protect Your Driving Privileges Fight Your Ticket With Bigger & Harman Today


You might not realize this, but every time you speed more than 100 mph in California, you risk an immediate suspension of your driving privileges at a mandatory court appearance. If convicted on speeding tickets for more than 100 mph, you will receive two Negligent Operator Treatment System (NOTS) points, a fine of around $900 - $2,500, and the judge has the authority given them by CA Vehicle Code (CVC) CVC 22348, Speed Laws.

In the desert country, it might seem effortless to find yourself exceeding the speed limit. Just keeping up with traffic can mean going 80-85 mph and topping 100 when passing. Many Mojave Desert travelers see this as routine.  

Fines & Penalties for Convictions on Speeding Tickets

There are four levels of penalties for speeding. When convicted of speeding 1-15 mph over the speed limit or prudent speed, the fine is $235 - $250 and comes with a DMV assessment of one NOTS point. 

Speeding tickets for 16-24 mph over the reasonable, prudent, or posted speed limit that lead to a conviction or paid fine are about $360, with one NOTS points.

The speeding ticket for 25 mph or more over the limit but less than 100 mph will get you a fine of $490 - $500.

However, it is possible to mask the NOTS point by attending Traffic Violators School. In the case of the first two levels, the court clerk can approve attendance. For 25 mph over, you will need the approval of a traffic court judge. That rarely happens without a traffic ticket attorney presenting a statement of remorse and a plan for repentance. 

A plan to always use cruise control for highway driving is good, but installing a governor that keeps the car from going faster than 65 or 70 mph is better. It is always advisable to consult a traffic attorney before you pay the fine and accept TVS. 

TVS for Speeding Tickets 

The State of California allows a driver to attend TVS as a sort of forgiveness for a minor infraction. However, you will need to admit guilt, pay your fine, and you can only use it once within 18 months from citation issue date to issue date. You must have a valid CA driver’s license, must not have been operating a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) when you get the ticket, it cannot have been alcohol or drug-related, or a misdemeanor or felony. 

Although you can only use it once every 18 months, it will mask your conviction for the full three years the infraction will stay on your MVR. But another ticket will be revealed to your auto insurance at renewal. You will then lose your “good driver’s discount” and be placed in a higher risk bracket. This generally costs the average CA driver $1,500 more in premiums for the three-year period. 

As stated earlier, there are four levels of speeding. Exceeding 100 mph cannot be masked by TVS attendance. For one, it is a major infraction, and TVS can mask only minor infractions. Secondly, the major infraction has a mandatory court appearance and two (2) NOTS points that remain on a motor vehicle driving record (MVR) up to seven years. 

Attorneys Who Handle a Mojave Speeding Tickets 

Call Bigger & Harman in Bakersfield when you need to challenge a speeding ticket for 100+ mph on highway 58 in Mojave Traffic Court, (661) 349-9300. 

We are traffic ticket attorneys with experience dealing with all types of alleged traffic violations such as speeding, following too closely, red light and stop sign tickets, reckless driving, hit and run, and others. We also assist drivers with DMV NOTS Hearings in Kern & Kings County, or anywhere in the Central Valley.

Se habla Español (661) 349-9755.

Send your email to  


CVC 22348, Speed Laws

Share To: