The Commercial Vehicle Speed Limit Is 55 MPH Across California
California's commercial vehicle speed limit is 55 mph for most commercial vehicles identified in CA Vehicle Code (CVC) Section 22406, Other Speed Laws.
That long stretch of open freeway on I-5 just north of Sacramento gives some novice truckers and charter bus drivers the impression that they can finally open it up a little now that they are out of the thick traffic. However, the CHP could be waiting for them.
Furthermore, despite other states having a maximum speed of 65 or 70 for all vehicles, CVC 22406.1, Other Speed Laws makes exceeding the commercial vehicle speed limit in CVC 22406 by 15 or more mph a misdemeanor crime.
A misdemeanor crime is more severe than an infraction but less grievous than a felony.
“A misdemeanor is a type of offense punishable under criminal law. A misdemeanor is typically a crime punishable by less than 12 months in jail. Community service, probation, fines, and imprisonment for less than a year are commonly issued punishments for misdemeanors. More grievous crimes, felonies, carry stiffer penalties, including jail time of more than 12 months.” — Cornell Law School Legal Information Institute (LII).
Imagine getting a criminal record for doing your job. This is the only CA traffic law that makes speeding a criminal offense.
What Are the Consequences of a Violation of the Commercial Vehicle Speed Limit?
The consequences of a conviction for violating the 55-mph commercial vehicle speed limit described in CVC 22406 can be much harsher than for the CDL holder’s non-commercial driving peers. Those could include:
- Fines up to $550 for an infraction, or $2,000 or more for a misdemeanor conviction, plus time in the Yolo County Jail or probation
- 1.5 or 3 NOTS points & 4, 7, or 10 CSA severity points and a “serious offense” on your Pre-employment Screening Program (PSP) record, depending on your speed.
- Increased insurance premiums for independent operators, or higher fleet insurance premiums, could cost you your driving job.
While jail time and a $2,000 fine would be rare, the rest of the consequences are typical for commercial vehicle speed limit violation convictions. When faced with a citation, your best option is to contact a CA traffic attorney. We can help you our experience and knowledge fight your ticket in Yolo County Traffic Court in Woodland, CA.
Never admit to any wrongdoing, choose to “remain silent,” sign your ticket, and consult a CA traffic attorney.
Ask Bigger & Harman, APC, for a Free Legal Consult about a Yolo County Speeding Ticket
When you need legal assistance after being cited for a commercial vehicle speed limit violation around Woodland, CA, in Yolo County, contact Bigger & Harman, APC, at (661) 349-9300, use the contact form or email us at email@example.com.
We have more than a decade of experience in CA traffic courts and understand that a commercial driver does not have the time to come by the office or sit around in traffic court waiting for their name to be called.
The DMV Portal CA Commercial Driver Handbook Copyright 2022.
The Balance article, What Do CSA Point Values Mean to Me.The Cornell Law School Legal Information Institute (LII) WEX legal definition.