Protect Your Driving Privileges Fight Your Ticket With Bigger & Harman Today

undefinedSpeeding 100+ mph IS NOT a criminal offense; a criminal offense would have jail time as an option if convicted.

According to CVC Section 22348, Speed Laws paragraph (b), “A person who drives a vehicle upon a highway at a speed greater than 100 miles per hour is guilty of an infraction…”

Cornell Law School Legal Information Institute (LII) Infraction Definition

Cornell Law School’s LII defines infractions as, “Generally it refers to violations of statutes. However, the act itself is very minor and hence the resulting penalty is also very minor. In the California Justice System, the highest form of punishment for an infraction is a possible maximum fine of $250. Incarceration is not an option for an infraction.”

Speeding 100+ MPH Conviction Consequences

However, speeding 100+ mph is a major infraction, for which the traffic code applies several stricter penalties. The first consequence is a mandatory court appearance, meaning that in most cases either you or an attorney must appear in court to resolve your ticket.

Secondly, if convicted, you face a base fine of $300 to $500, which, when the state and county fees, surcharges, and penalties are added, becomes $850 to $2,500. The CA legislature approved, and the Governor signed CVC 22348 into law in 2005. Since then, they have added ten pieces of legislation to fund DNA research, night court, court construction, and others.

Next, the DMV is authorized under CVC 12810, Issuance and Renewal of Licenses, to assess negligent operator treatment system (NOTS) points. “For aconviction of a violation of subdivision (b) of Section 22348, shall be given a value of two points.”

Therefore, when your car insurance provider learns of the conviction, typically at renewal, they could increase your premium 2x or 3x if they retain you as a client. For the average Californian who pays $1960 annually for auto insurance, it will cost them $13,720 to $27,440 for the seven years the conviction will remain on their record.

Finally, a little known consequence of a speeding 100+ mph conviction is a possible 30-day license suspension. Imagine trying to get around Mono County without a license for 30 days. Although the judge in Bridgeport or Mammoth Traffic court will likely permit you to drive home, your suspension will often start right away.

Which Traffic Lawyer Can Handle My Speeding 100+ MPH Ticket?

You must not take the speeding 100+ mph citation lightly. When you get stopped on I-395 in Mono County, you will have to come back to attend court unless you hire a traffic ticket attorney well-versed in fighting a speeding ticket. Call Bigger & Harman, (661) 349-9300. Se habla Español (661) 349-9755.

We have a reputation for excellence in handling speeding 100+ mph across Owens and Central Valley.



The 2020 CA Driver Handbook.pdf

The Cornell Law School Legal Information Institute (LII) webpage, Infraction

4 Unknown Consequences.pdf - NO LINK TO PDF

Share To: