When the CHP or local law enforcement officer (LEO) pulls you over and asks to see your license, registration, and proof of insurance, they might also ask do you know why they stopped you. Or, you might ask them. Whichever, the LEO will respond, this is about the stop sign or right turn on red. You did a California roll through instead of coming to a complete stop.
A California Roll Through Is the Same as Running a Stop Sign
CA Vehicle Code (CVC) 22450, Special Stops Required indicates that a driver will stop at the limit line if one exists or can be seen, if not, then before the crosswalk or intersection on the nearside. When there is no crosswalk or limit line, then before entering into the intersection. Likewise, the driver will stop at a marked limit line before a railroad crossing, before the lowered gate, or before the first track.
If you get a ticket for what is known as a California roll, if you pay the fine, it is around $235 to $240, typically $238, but it depends on the county and their court fees. That seems cheap enough, right? About half a week’s pay for most minimum wage earners. But it also comes with one negligent operator treatment system (NOT) point if you are not eligible for Traffic Violators School (TVS). If you’re eligible, you will still get the point, but it will not be visible to the public if you complete TVS on time.
When you’re not eligible for TVS that one NOTS point could cost the average Californian between $1,500 and $2,000 for increased auto insurance premiums. Although your court reminder will tell you if you’re eligible, you can only use it once during an 18 month timeframe to mask a ticket. It’s only allowed for moving violations that are infractions, and you must have a valid, not suspended nor revoked, CA driver’s license.
The worst part of the TVS is having to plead guilty. Especially when they believe the LEO was not in a position to see them stop. Well, for some, it is finding time in their busy schedule to complete TVS before the court-ordered date.
It happens quite frequently that you stop at the limit line, and you can’t see very well, so you roll forward and without coming to a full stop, go into the intersection knowing you already stopped where you were supposed to stop.
The same could be true for a red light stop; only if you do a California roll through a red light that is camera-enforced, it will cost $490.
How We Determined the $1,500 to $2,000 more for Increased Insurance
It will depend, of course, on how much you pay for insurance. The average Californian already pays an average of $1,960 per year. The actual cost will depend on many variables. If you are a teen, you can expect to pay much more.
So, when your insurance company sees that you were convicted or paid the fine for a stop sign ticket, they will take away your “good driver’s discount,” that’s 20 percent or $392 per year. You will not be able to get that discount again for at least three years. 3 x 392 is $1,176. Now the insurance company will raise your premium the amount of increased risk. That could be another 12 to 20 percent. That’s $235.20 to $392 per year, or $705.60 to $1,176. Remember, this is an average price increase.
Regardless of your circumstances, your best option is to consult with a traffic attorney to get straight answers.
Contact Bigger & Harman, APC for Straight Talk & Straight Answers
When you get a ticket for a California roll through, call Bigger & Harman, APC, (661) 349-9300. We handle only traffic law issues and charge a flat rate so that you know how much you will pay before you agree to let us resolve your ticket.
Se habla Español (661) 349-9755.
Ryan C. from Bakersfield wrote on Yelp, “I first reached out to Bigger and Harman and was given some very helpful advice at no charge related to a red light camera ticket (which I then did not have to pay for the ticket using their advice). After this experience, when I got a speeding/unsafe pass ticket that had some irregularity to it I contacted them right away. NOT GUILTY! They got my ticket dismissed. Would recommend 5 star[s].”
The 2020 CA Driver Handbook.pdfCVC 22450, Special Stops Required