Traveling 100+ mph across the desert in California is not at all uncommon. However, the stretch of highway across the Mojave Desert, Interstate 15 (I-15) between Los Angeles and Las Vegas sees only the second-highest total of 100+ speeding ticket for Californians. The highest number is between LAX and San Francisco on I-5.
Speeding 100+ MPH Is Not a Misdemeanor
Despite what some online articles state, speeding 100+ mph in CA is a major infraction, not a misdemeanor and you will not go to jail. Busting another myth, it is not automatically reckless driving either.
Speeding 100+ by itself in CA is not reckless driving. CA Vehicle Code 22348, Other Speed Laws indicates, “A person who drives a vehicle upon a highway at a speed greater than 100 miles per hour is guilty of an infraction.” There is nothing in this section or CVC 23103, Reckless Driving that ties the two together. Nonetheless, the reckless actions of someone driving that fast might warrant the additional charge.
Speeding 100+ MPH Penalties
Still, if you are caught speeding 100+ mph, you will have a mandatory court appearance, for which you can hire a traffic lawyer to represent you (contact us on the Kings County legal situation). Hiring a lawyer makes a great deal of sense because if you are convicted, you face a fine of $900- $2,600. Although CVC 22348 specifies a maximum $500 base fine, the state and county add ten surcharges and administrative fees that will bring the total up to over $900.
Along with the fine, which is significant enough, is the two negligent operator treatment system (NOTS) points. When your insurance company sees your conviction, and you cannot mask it with a traffic violator school (TVS) because of the mandatory court appearance designation, your insurance will double or triple.
Some drivers wind up selling their new vehicles, which they have a lien on because the loan requires full-coverage auto insurance. Full coverage in CA averages $1,920 — imagine paying $2,000 to $3,000 more for insurance. So, you can guess why some have to sell their cars.
Another consequence many do not know is the authority from CVC 22348 for the traffic court judge to suspend your driver’s license for 30 days immediately. When you represent yourself, you might hear the judge announce, “Guilty, pay the court clerk your fine of $2,000 and surrender your license, you can get it back after 30 days.” Plus, after the 30 days, you will have to pay the state a reinstatement fee.
Barstow Help with 100+ MPH Speeding Tickets
Bigger & Harman can handle your traffic ticket scheduled for Barstow Traffic Court. Give us a call at (661) 349-9300. Se habla Español (661) 349-9755.
Although we have had tremendous success getting 100+ mph speeding tickets dismissed, sometimes we must accept a reduced charge offered by the court with our client’s permission. The difference between a speeding 100+ and a 99 mph conviction can mean thousands in savings.
However, we cannot promise either of those results. We do guarantee to expend every effort to get you the best result possible.
Send us an email, email@example.com.
CVC 22348, Other Speed Laws