Will I Go to Jail Driving with a Suspended License?
You rely on your driver’s license to allow you the flexibility to drive wherever you need to be, whether it’s school, work or running errands for your family. If you have a suspended license, you can face a transportation dilemma, making it difficult for you to manage your life. As frustrating as it can be to have your license revoked if you choose to get behind the wheel with a suspended license you could be facing even more consequences for your actions. Instead of only having a transportation dilemma, you may find yourself serving jail time.
Schedule a free case review with our Kern County attorney to fight your traffic offenses today!
Consequences of Driving with a Suspended License
If you had your license revoked or suspended for a DUI, a failure to appear, reckless driving, too many points through NOTS or another traffic infraction, it is best to not risk getting behind the wheel. If you are caught driving with a suspended license while cruising around Kern County or anywhere else in California, you could face serious consequences, often steeper than the penalties for your original traffic infraction. California VC 14601 outlines the possible consequences of driving with a revoked or suspended license, which include:
- First offense: Jail time up to six months and a fine between $300-$1000
- A second offense within five years: Jail time from 10 days to one year and a fine between $500-$2000
Driving with a suspended license in California is a misdemeanor, which means it is a criminal offense. Not only does it impact your driving privileges, but it can also impact your permanent record on background checks for employment and other opportunities in your life.
Avoid the financial burden and jail time of driving with a suspended license, schedule a case review with our Kern County attorney today!
Fighting a Ticket for Driving with a Suspended License
If you get pulled over and cited for driving with a suspended license, you want to hire a lawyer to fight this charge. You can be facing mandatory jail time and a misdemeanor, as well as costly fines. There are defenses that can be used to fight a charge of driving with a suspended license, but you want an experienced Kern County traffic attorney to present these defenses to the court for the best results. If it can be proven you did not know your license was suspended or that the original suspension was invalid, you may get the charges dismissed. At Bigger & Harman, we are experts at helping our clients fight traffic infractions, including driving with a suspended license.
We serve Bakersfield, Los Angeles, Tulare County, Kern County, Inyo County, and the surrounding areas. Schedule a free consultation to discuss the legal options for your case!
Negligent Operator Treatment System NOTS
California VC 14601