Call Today 661.349.9300
Se Habla Español 661.349.9755
Protect Your Driving Privileges Fight Your Ticket With Bigger & Harman Today

How Many Speeding Tickets Until Your License is Revoked?

Do you know how many speeding tickets you can get before California revokes your driver’s license (DL)? You may be surprised to know that the answer could be just one! Not knowing the speeding laws in CA could cost you your DL if you are convicted of speeding in CA.

Many people do not realize the distinction between a suspension and a revocation. When your DL is suspended, you cannot use it to drive for the duration of the suspension; whereas, when your DL is revoked, it is canceled and you must reapply to get it back. Whichever is the case, suspension or revocation, you will need to pay administrative fees in addition to fines and penalties to re-instate your DL.

Penalties & Fines for Speeding in CA

California uses a point system to determine who can drive legally. Most at-fault accidents and traffic offenses, including speeding tickets under 100 mph are worth one point. In addition to the point assessment, your $35.00 fine for a speeding ticket for 1-15 mph over the limit will cost you around $234.00, 16-25 mph over will cost around $380.00, and 26 or more mph over up to 99 mph will cost around $490.00, plus a likely rise in insurance premiums. Therefore, you should think twice before you just pay your fine.

If you receive four points on your license in 12 months, six points in 24 months, or eight points in 36 months, your license will be revoked or suspended, normally for a six-month period, with a concurrent one-year probationary period, in which you may not receive a subsequent conviction or at-fault accident without additional suspension time being added. One exception to this rule is if you are convicted of speeding over 100 mph.

Speeding Over 100 MPH

CVC 22348 (b) prohibits speeding over 100 mph on CA highways and has special penalties. According to this law, a first offense of speeding over 100 mph will result in 2 points on your license, a fine up to $500.00 before state and county fees, penalties, and assessments, which will bring the total to around $900.00 before your insurance company raises your premiums, and your license can and most likely will be suspended for up to 30 days if convicted. Whether you refer to this as a suspension or a revocation, you will be without driving privileges for 30 days.

Anyone convicted a second time for traveling over 100 mph, within 36 months, the fine will be up to $750.00, and once again, state and county fees, surcharges, and assessments will be added and now the law reads, "The person’s privilege to operate a motor vehicle shall be suspended by the Department of Motor Vehicles." A third offense within 60 months or five years carries a fine up to $1000.00 without state and county penalties, and that "shall be suspended" verbiage is again present. The first thing most people notice when reading the penalties for a second or third offense is they do not state how long your DL will be suspended, which is usually left up to the discretion of the judge.

Can you imagine NOT having a driver's license in California? Most people must drive to work, and many will continue to do so, risking more tickets and fines because they feel they have no choice. A DL suspension always seems to be the start of a downhill slide with legal troubles and life in general. Now that you know just one speeding ticket could result in your license being suspended or revoked, you can make choices based on your new-found knowledge of the potential costs.

Bigger & Harman, APC

When you require assistance fighting a speeding ticket in Mono, Kern, Tulare, Kings, and other Central Valley CA counties or in SoCal counties such as LA, SLO, or San Bernardino, call the law firm of Bigger & Harman, 661-349-9300, send an email, attorney@markbigger.com, or fill out the convenient contact form on the website.

En español, llame al 661-349-9755.