Call Today 661.349.9300
Se Habla Español 661.349.9755
Protect Your Driving Privileges Fight Your Ticket With Bigger & Harman Today

How Expensive is a Speeding Ticket Over 100 MPH?

Receiving a Ticket for Speeding

Receiving a speeding ticket in California will cost you money if you are found guilty. When the ticket is for exceeding 100 miles per hour, it becomes quite serious. You face fines, license suspensions, points, increased insurance premiums, and court appearances. Without legal representation, you can count on these consequences compounding. Many judges believe that if you come to court without representation, particularly when you were allegedly driving more than 100 mph, you were reckless twice. They can suspend your license up to 30 days and most likely will do just that. Bigger & Harman have an excellent reputation in Kern, Tulare, and Los Angeles County courts.

Speeding Tickets in California Exceeding 100 Miles Per Hour

Receiving a speeding ticket for driving 100 miles per hours has serious consequences. On your first offense, your fine can be up to $500.00 (with assessments, normally about $899 - $1000). Your license may be suspended for up to thirty days. Two points will be legally applied to your driving records. Your auto insurance premiums will rise considerably. For commercial drivers, all those penalties could be higher and you may lose four weekly paychecks if your license is suspended, or if you are employed by a zero-tolerance employer, you could face unemployment.

With the Negligent Operators Treatment System or NOTS, if you receive four points in one year, six points in two years, or eight points in three years your license will be suspended. This suspension is for six months because you are now a negligent vehicle operator. If you are a commercial driver, this can cost you your job. You must appear in court and will require legal representation. You are not eligible to attend traffic school, unless there are mitigating circumstances, such as when the points were accumulated during off-duty time, in a privately-owned vehicle.

California Speeding Laws

The laws regarding speeding in California are strict. If you are given a speeding ticket on the highway at more than 100 miles per hour this is an infraction with all the following possible consequences:

1) Your first conviction is punishable by a fine up to $500.00 (normally $899 to $1000 with assessments). Your license can be suspended for up to 30 days.

2) If your conviction occurs within a three-year period from your last offense it is punishable by a fine up to $750.00 (without assessments). The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will suspend your license for 6 months.

3) If your conviction is within a five-year period in which you had two or more convictions it is punishable by a fine up to $1000.00. The DMV will suspend your license.

Getting Help

A speeding ticket in California is serious and requires help. Setting up a consultation with Bigger & Harman as soon as possible is your best option. Although a 100-mph ticket in California is not a misdemeanor, these tickets are very serious, with very real consequences. For one, it stays on your record for seven years; number two, it can double or triple your insurance premiums; three, it can lead to a 30-day driver’s license suspension; and finally, fines can range between $500 and $2500, depending on your speed and the leniency of the judge. Don’t go it alone. In Los Angeles, Kern, and Tulare Counties we have a reputation as trusted traffic ticket defenders. We can check on certification and calibration of the radar guns used, and talk with the police officer to see if we can’t negotiate a lesser offense.

Call today for an appointment, 661-349-9300. You can also email our office: attorney@markbigger.com