Call Today 661.349.9300
Se Habla Español 661.349.9755
Protect Your Driving Privileges Fight Your Ticket With Bigger & Harman Today

California Reckless Driving

California reckless driving laws fall under the California Vehicle Code 23013. This law defines reckless driving as driving on a highway or in an off-street parking lot or garage in such a way that displays:

"willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property."

The California Vehicle Code for reckless covers a variety of actions. Determining whether or not a driver receives reckless driving citation may involve the police officer looking at several factors: excessive speeding, swerving, or driving in any other manner without regard to public safety, as defined by the law.

Penalties for reckless driving can include a jail sentence of five days and a minimum $145 fine. The jail sentence could be as long as 90 days and the fine up to 1000 dollars for more severe offenses. Reckless driving garners two points on a driver's license and unlike a normal speeding ticket, a reckless driving conviction does not automatically drop of after 3 years.

Reckless driving is a misdemeanor in California. Yet oftentimes in Bakersfield this case can involve a simple spinning of the tires or other activity that does not necessarily display a willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property.

If you are facing reckless driving charges, you should obtain qualified legal counsel as soon as possible. Reckless driving charges carry criminal charges with high fines and penalties. An experienced traffic ticket attorney with a proven track record of success can help you get the fines and penalties reduced, and may even be able to get the charges dropped in some cases.