Getting caught speeding is a serious issue in California, particularly when the speed recorded is over 100 miles per hour. If you are caught speeding 100+ mph, there are several penalties and consequences you need to be aware of about this “major infraction” of the CA Vehicle Code.
Speeding 100+ MPH Requires a Mandatory Court Appearance
Unlike minor traffic infractions, where you can pay the fine without a court appearance, speeding 100+ mph in California mandates you to appear before a judge. This is considered a serious offense taken very seriously by the court system. You cannot resolve it by merely paying a fine via mail or online.
What’s more, CA counties maintain jurisdiction of their traffic tickets; therefore, if you were ticketed in Inyo County, you must return to Lamont or Shafter for trial, regardless of where your residence is, or hire an attorney to do that for you.
The Fine, If Convicted, Is Between $900 and $2,137
The financial penalties for speeding 100+ mph are substantial. You can expect a fine between $900 to $2,137if convicted. The wide range is due to the court's discretion to adjust the penalty based on the circumstances of the offense and your driving history.
The Judge Has Discretion to Suspend Your License Automatically
CVC Section 22348, Speed Laws, gives the traffic court judge the latitude to suspend your driving privileges for up to 30 days immediately.
“The court may also suspend the privilege of the person to operate a motor vehicle for a period not to exceed 30 days.”—CVC Section 22348 (b) (1).
That paragraph also states, “Upon a first conviction of a violation of this subdivision, by a fine of not to exceed five hundred dollars ($500).” You might wonder if it says “…not to exceed $500,” how could it be $900 or more.
This section of traffic code was written in 1959. Since then, the CA Assembly has added ten surcharges, penalties, and assessments that add significantly to your total fine, often five to seven times the published “base fine.”
The DMV Will Assess Two NOTS Points for Seven Years
In addition to the hefty fine, the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will assess two Negligent Operator Treatment System (NOTS) points to your driving record. These points will remain for seven years.
Accumulating too many NOTS points can lead to a suspended license for up to six months and probation for 12 months. Four points in 12 months, six points in 24 months, or eight points in 36 months will trigger an Order of Suspension& Probation, though you can request a DMV NOTS hearing within ten days. Ask a traffic attorney for assistance.
Your Auto Insurance Will Double or Triple
Another consequence of being convicted of speeding 100+ mph is the dramatic increase in auto insurance premiums.
Insurance companies view high-speed violations as high risk behavior. Consequently, your premiums can double or even triple for the seven years the two NOTS points remain on your record. This spike can result in thousands of dollars of extra insurance costs.
You Need a Traffic Attorney to Dispute This Charge
Given the severe consequences associated with speeding 100+ mph, it is essential to have professional legal help. An experienced and knowledgeable traffic attorney can represent you in court, help build a strong defense, negotiate for reduced charges, or even get the case dismissed under certain circumstances.
A traffic attorney can scrutinize the evidence, ensuring the radar or laser device used to measure your speed was correctly calibrated and operated, and verify that the law enforcement officer (LEO) followed proper procedure.
If you've been cited for speeding 100+ mph in California, don't leave your driving future to chance. Hiring a traffic attorney is the best course of action to protect your driving record, prevent steep insurance hikes, and potentially save you thousands of dollars in fines and increased insurance rates.
Getting caught speeding 100+ mph is a major infraction with long-lasting consequences. However, with professional legal help, you can navigate the legal system confidently, knowing you're doing everything possible to protect your rights, your license, and your financial future.
Consult with Bigger & Harman about Speeding 100+ MPH in Kern County Traffic Court
Se habla Español (661) 349-9755.
CVC Section 22348, Speed Laws.The Bankrate.com article, Average cost of car insurance in CA for 2023.