Many things will run through your mind when you first receive a speeding 100+ mph ticket. After talking to either of the traffic attorneys at Bigger & Harman, APC, you’ll have the peace of mind knowing that you will not go to jail; it is an infraction.
According to Cornell Law’s Legal Information Institute (LII), “In the California Justice System, the highest form of punishment for an infraction is a possible maximum fine of *$250 [sic] $500. Incarceration is not an option for an infraction.”
*Note: At the time of publication, $250 was the maximum fine for a speeding 100+ conviction, which is a major infraction.
However, CA Vehicle Code (CVC) Section 22348, Speed Laws states, “Upon a first conviction of a violation of this subdivision, by a fine of not to exceed five hundred dollars ($500).” That $500 is the “base fine.” When CVC 22348 was published in 1959, the base fine was $250; upon amendment, the Assembly raised it to $500. The California Assembly has approved ten additional surcharges, fees and penalties to that base fine to finance various initiatives like night court, DNA ID, courthouse construction and more.
What Are the Other Consequences of a Speeding 100+ MPH Conviction
As stated above, those additional surcharges will be added to the $300 to $500 fine to make it between $900 and $2,500. But, much worse than the fine is the DMV assessment of two negligent operator treatment system (NOTS) points. At renewal, your auto insurance provider will ask the DMV for a copy of your motor vehicle driving record (MVR), which is public information, and when they see the speeding 100+ conviction, they will likely double or triple your premium.
That higher premium can stay in effect until the conviction is removed from your MVR after seven years. The higher premium could cost as much as $6,195 per year for the average Californian based on Bankrate’s average auto insurance premium figure of $2,065 per year. Many CA drivers convicted of speeding 100+ mph have to get less expensive cars or make other life changes to avoid the higher costs.
Another little-known consequence of a speeding 100+ conviction is the traffic court judge's discretionary 30-day suspension of driving privileges -in Mono or Inyo County, that can be extremely inconvenient. This area is not like LA or San Fran, where you can hop on the Metro Rail or Muni Metro. You’ll need to pay for an expensive taxi, uber or inconvenience a friend.
Consult with Bigger & Harman, APC, about a Speeding 100+ MPH Ticket
Call Bigger & Harman (661) 349-9300 when you are ticketed in either Inyo or Mono County in Owens Valley, CA.
We frequently represent drivers in one of the Owens Valley Traffic Courts for speeding 100+ mph in Mono or Inyo County, CA. Give us a call to discuss your options.
Se habla Español (661) 349-9755.
The 2021 CA Driver Handbook English y Español
CVC Section 22348, Speed Laws