If you receive a dangerous speeding ticket in Lamont or Shafter, the fine, penalty assessments and points are just a small part of the total cost.
Auto insurance rates are 83 percent higher after a reckless driving conviction. These numbers are based on a national average, so the increase in California is probably even higher. That's because insurance companies in The Golden State cannot raise rates based on a poor credit score, so the effects of a driving record, even if it only has one blemish, are magnified.
By comparison, Texas drivers see about a 60 percent increase for reckless.
VC 22348(b) is the super speeder law in California. A first-time violation carries a heavy fine, and when adding costs and penalty assessments, the total bail amount is normally over $850 for a ticket just over 100 MPH. But at 106 MPH and 111 MPH, the fine goes up even further according to the bail schedule. You could be looking at a $2500 bail fee for more than 110 MPH. A first offense is also two points against your license, and the judge can suspend your license for up to 30 days.
The reckless driving statute, VC 23103, applies to those who drive with "willful or wanton disregard for the safety or property of others." This violation also carries a significant fine, and your car can be impounded for up to 30 days. The average insurance bill would probably double here in California, since credit score is not part of the insurance billing system.
Typically, an attorney can get the charges reduced, so even if you are convicted, you face a lower fine, a lower rate hike and fewer points.