Protect Your Driving Privileges Fight Your Ticket With Bigger & Harman Today

Unlicensed drivers in California are three times more likely to cause a fatal crash than licensed drivers, according to a 2012 report. Report: Suspended Drivers are Dangerous Drivers

The DMV report studied crash data over a 23-year period, from 1987-2009. Although the report was dismissive on this point, part of the issue may be the sheer number of unlicensed drivers in California: undocumented immigrants have not been able to obtain drivers' licenses in California since 1994. Instead, the report pointed out that a majority of license suspensions were due to safety issues, such as a DUI or medical condition, and such drivers were inherently unsafe and should not have been driving in the first place.

The report recommended that stronger countermeasures be employed against drivers with suspended drivers' licenses.

Under Vehicle Code 14601, driving with a suspended license is a misdemeanor; a first offense is punishable by up to six months in jail and a $1,000 fine. The state can suspend your license for a number of reasons, including a conviction for:

A license may also be suspended without a DUI conviction or if the driver fails to appear in court. There are also some administrative suspensions, such as failing to pay child support, and some safety suspensions, such as a medical condition. If you have any issues, contact a Bakersfield attorney right away to help clear your license.

Share To: