Although many people tend to simply roll through stop signs, it has always
been dangerous and now it is becoming extremely costly in California.
This simple action could have larger repercussions on your life than you
might have thought. Stop sign tickets are becoming increasingly popular
and more expensive. California police are cracking down on stop sign offenders.
If drivers decide to roll through an intersection, what is ironically
referred to as a “California stop” will get them a stop sign
ticket, which could cost $234, almost double what it was just ten years
ago. Though the “base” fine is just $35, after adding state
and county assessments, fees, and surcharges it will cost you nearly seven
times the base fine.
CA Vehicle Code: Stop Sign Ticket
California Vehicle Code (CVC)
22450 requires drivers to make a complete stop at the stop sign limit line.
If there is no limit line the driver is required to make a complete stop
at the entrance of the intersection and prior to the pedestrian crosswalk
if present. If a driver is convicted on a ticket, they will then get assessed
one Negligent Operator Treatment System (NOTS) point on their driver’s
license by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
Traffic school is currently an option for a stop sign ticket, which is
a moving violation, though it will likely cost you an additional $50 or
$100. Yes, the court clerk will add $24 to your ticket and traffic schools
normally cost $25 to $60. The DMV has a list of state-approved traffic schools
Kern County Courthouse
In Kern County, the officers have really cracked down on traffic violators
and stop sign ticket are being given out for rolling through a stop sign.
It is extremely important that drivers realize the severity of rolling
through stop signs and take the extra few seconds to make a complete stop.
Kern County takes pride in protecting their citizens and with strict regulations
for traffic laws they attempt to uphold their mission “To Serve
Hire a Local Traffic Ticket Attorney
You should always contact a traffic ticket lawyer after receiving a stop
sign ticket to get advice and counsel, particularly when you have NOTS
points already or traffic school is not an option. It is their specialty
and they can provide you with the legal advice you need to fight the ticket
As a California Driver, you must take the law seriously. Not only does
a ticket have a big fine and DMV assessed points but it could even require
further time with traffic school, traffic court, or a DMV Hearing if you
have accumulated too many NOTS points and a suspension is imminent. Take
the extra time as a driver to be cautious and always come to a complete
stop to avoid collisions, pedestrians, and fines.
Bigger & Harman, APC
Bigger & Harman, APC can represent you at a DMV Hearing or in traffic
court when you need a lawyer to protect your driving privileges. It is
possible for them to look over your driving record and dispute assessed
points. You should never just accept a DL suspension without requesting
a hearing with the DMV to review your record. The first thing you should
do is order a copy of your driving record. You can do that by registering on
ca.gov, to order your Motor Vehicle Driving Record (MVR), fill-out the
INF 1125.pdf, you can check the information yourself to ensure everything is up-to-date
and accurate. Then bring it into the Bigger & Harman office with you.
When your DL is about to be suspended, you should take advantage of the
Bigger & Harman offer of a FREE phone consultation, 661-349-9300.
Bigger and Harman represent their clients in Central Valley traffic courts
in Shafter, Bakersfield, Lamont, Bishop, Fresno and in SoCal courts in
San Bernardino, LA, and Riverside Counties. Call the office, set up an
appointment, use the
contact form on the website, or email
firstname.lastname@example.org. Read a write up about their law practice on
Nolo.com, which is the leading legal website on the internet.
En español, llame al 661-349-9755.