California Points System: Negligent Operator
California has a point system in force which is supposed to deter the negligent
operator. This point system is known as the Negligent Operator Treatment
System (NOTS). The point system was designed by the California Motor Vehicle
Department (DMV) to contribute to safety on the roads. The system is administered
by law enforcement (LE) officials and the DMV. This system applies points
for moving violations, sends warning letters, and applies sanctions such
as a license suspension to the licensed drivers who are eighteen years
of age and above.
Teenage Drivers Below 18
Teenage drivers have more restrictions, as their license is “provisional.”
Therefore, if a teen accumulates
three points in a 12-month period or fails to pay a fine, their license will be suspended. If they are convicted
of any drug or alcohol use, their license will be suspended for one year,
this applies to all below the legal drinking age of 21. Further, once a
teen receives two points or more, their license will be restricted for 30 days.
Drivers under the age of 18 are restricted from carrying passengers under
20 years of age without a parent, guardian, person over 25, or an instructor
in the vehicle and may not drive between 11 pm and 5 am for a period of one year.
There are exceptions to the restrictions placed on teen drivers:
· Medical necessity requires a note from your doctor
· School necessities or school activities requires a note from your principal
· Work necessity, you work between the hours of 11 pm and 5 am,
requires a note from your employer
· Family member necessity requires a note from your parents or legal guardian
· Emancipation, you are required to show proof of emancipation when
asked by law enforcement
Additional information is available from the DMV in their
Moving Violations, Points, & Suspension
In California, the NOTS point system is administered under California Vehicle
Code (CVC) Section 12810.5. Each time a motor vehicle operator is found
guilty of a moving violation, they are assessed points against their license.
A driver with a commercial driver’s license (CDL), who is found
guilty of a moving violation while driving a commercial motor vehicle
(CMV) is assessed an additional 50%-point penalty, for instance what a
regular driver would be assessed a one-point penalty for, say a “driving
in a bicycle lane” or other “improper lane use,” the
driver of a CMV will be assessed a 1.5 penalty.
· Do not acquire 4 or more point in a one-year period
· Do not acquire 6 or more point in a two-year period
· Do not acquire 8 or more point in a three-year period
One point violations are usually, traffic signals, right of way violations,
improper or illegal U-turns, drug and alcohol, child restraints, passing
a stopped bus, speeding and others.
Two point violations are usually more severe, reckless driving, speeding
over 100 mph, evading an LE officer, hit-and-run with injury or property
damage, or operating with a suspended or revoked driver’s license
Several moving violations will lead to immediate suspension of your driver’s license:
· Evading LE officers
· Failure to pay child support
· Failure to appear in court
· Failure to pay assessed fines
· Failure to carry the minimum required insurance
· Too many points
When you are nearing suspension and have received a traffic ticket, to
avoid suspension it may be essential to fight the current ticket. Call
Bigger & Harman, 661-349-9300 who are experienced and professional
traffic ticket attorneys practicing nothing but traffic ticket defense
in Los Angeles, Kern, Tulare, and throughout SOCAL counties. Or, just email
firstname.lastname@example.org a scanned copy of your ticket and a detailed synopsis of the event, and
we will reply with our recommended defense. Keep in mind, there are DMV
procedures and technicalities that might permit a commercial driver to
keep their license, by pleading to a lesser penalty, get probation of
their suspension, or get the ticket dismissed entirely.
En español, llame al 661-349-9755.