Receiving a Ticket for Speeding
Receiving a speeding ticket in California will cost you money if you are
found guilty. When the ticket is for exceeding 100 miles per hour, it
becomes quite serious. You face fines, license suspensions, points, increased
insurance premiums, and court appearances. Without legal representation,
you can count on these consequences compounding. Many judges believe that
if you come to court without representation, particularly when you were
allegedly driving more than 100 mph, you were reckless twice. They can
suspend your license up to 30 days and most likely will do just that.
Bigger & Harman have an excellent reputation in Kern, Tulare, and
Los Angeles County courts.
Speeding Tickets in California Exceeding 100 Miles Per Hour
Receiving a speeding ticket for driving 100 miles per hours has serious
consequences. On your first offense, your fine can be up to $500.00 (with
assessments, normally about $899 - $1000). Your license may be suspended
for up to thirty days. Two points will be legally applied to your driving
records. Your auto insurance premiums will rise considerably. For commercial
drivers, all those penalties could be higher and you may lose four weekly
paychecks if your license is suspended, or if you are employed by a zero-tolerance
employer, you could face unemployment.
Negligent Operators Treatment System or NOTS, if you receive four points in one year, six points in two years,
or eight points in three years your license will be suspended. This suspension
is for six months because you are now a negligent vehicle operator. If
you are a commercial driver, this can cost you your job. You must appear
in court and will require legal representation. You are not eligible to
attend traffic school, unless there are mitigating circumstances, such
as when the points were accumulated during off-duty time, in a privately-owned vehicle.
California Speeding Laws
The laws regarding speeding in California are strict. If you are given
a speeding ticket on the highway at more than 100 miles per hour this
is an infraction with all the following possible consequences:
1) Your first conviction is punishable by a fine up to $500.00 (normally
$899 to $1000 with assessments). Your license can be suspended for up
to 30 days.
2) If your conviction occurs within a three-year period from your last
offense it is punishable by a fine up to $750.00 (without assessments).
The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will suspend your license for 6 months.
3) If your conviction is within a five-year period in which you had two
or more convictions it is punishable by a fine up to $1000.00. The DMV
will suspend your license.
A speeding ticket in California is serious and requires help. Setting up
a consultation with Bigger & Harman as soon as possible is your best
option. Although a 100-mph ticket in California is not a misdemeanor,
these tickets are very serious, with very real consequences. For one,
it stays on your record for seven years; number two, it can double or
triple your insurance premiums; three, it can lead to a 30-day driver’s
license suspension; and finally, fines can range between $500 and $2500,
depending on your speed and the leniency of the judge. Don’t go
it alone. In Los Angeles, Kern, and Tulare Counties we have a reputation
as trusted traffic ticket defenders. We can check on certification and
calibration of the radar guns used, and talk with the police officer to
see if we can’t negotiate a lesser offense.
Call today for an appointment, 661-349-9300. You can also email our office: