sIf You Lose Your DL or Driver's License
If you lose your DL it can make your life incredibly difficult. You cannot
drive a car, so getting back and forth to work, shopping, and doing things
with your friends and family will be tough. When you get traffic tickets
because of traffic violations, one or two points are added when you are
convicted of the violation. These points go against your driving record
for a minimum of three years or attend traffic school. If you gather more
than four points in a year, you lose your DL due to suspension.
Minor infractions, such as speeding, not signaling before you turn, running
a red light, and others are one point, while more serious infractions,
misdemeanors, and felonies are two points.
However, some violations of the California Vehicle Code (CVC) give the
judge the ability to suspend your license for 30 days.
Causes for 30-Day Driving Suspension in California (CA)
One of the CVC violations that carries a 30-day suspension is speeding
over 100 mph. The
traffic commissioner in Hanford, CA has said that he believes in a 30 day suspension for over
100 MPH tickets. Therefore, if you are convicted of speeding while exceeding
100 mph on I-5, without legal representation, chances are you will lose
your license for 30 days.
If you get pulled over and are under the influence of drugs or alcohol
you will face not only an arrest, but a possible suspension (normal suspensions
are between 120 days to a year). You will be issued a thirty-day temporary
provision that allows you to drive while your case is being examined but
you only have 10-15 days to let the DMV know that you will contest your
And, do not try to evade the police officer or law enforcement (LE) officer,
it gets much worse. How about imprisonment in a county jail for one year?
Between $2000 and $10,000 in fines? If your evading is dangerous enough
to rise to a felony, you could even be facing state prison for up to three years.
Kings County Court in Hanford
So, there you sit in Kings County Court. You thought you had it all figured
out. There was no way they would find you guilty of 110 mph in a 65-mph
zone. Your brother-in-law told you about a fool-proof, never fail defense
for speeding. The judge had a different plan, he said, “A 30-day
license suspension will go into effect on Saturday at 5 PM.”
Well, it’s Thursday so at least you can drive home, take a couple
of days to find your brother-in-law, and let him know he will be driving
you around for 30 days because he caused you to lose your DL, even though
it was you driving over 100 mph. If only I had hired an lawyer.
In Kings County, just as in Kern, Riverside, SLO, Tulare, LA, or Inyo County
and a few others in SoCal, call Bigger & Harman, 661-349-9300, for
vigorous representation for traffic violations. Or email:
firstname.lastname@example.org to arrange a FREE initial consultation about you speeding ticket. Do not
go it alone.
Sometimes officers are not free for court due to another assignment or
another technicality could result in a dismissal of charges, if you have
representation. Traffic defenders work in the system every day and have
gotten to know what works for you and what works against you. Telling
the judge, you were going 80 but so was everyone else is an admission
of guilt, so don’t try that one. Bigger & Harman have disputed
and won nearly 2000 traffic tickets in California courts!
En español, llame al 661-349-9755.