Do you know how many speeding tickets you can get before California revokes
your driver’s license (DL)? You may be surprised to know that the
answer could be just one! Not knowing the speeding laws in CA could cost
you your DL if you are convicted of speeding in CA.
Many people do not realize the distinction between a suspension and a revocation.
When your DL is suspended, you cannot use it to drive for the duration
of the suspension; whereas, when your DL is revoked, it is canceled and
you must reapply to get it back. Whichever is the case, suspension or
revocation, you will need to pay administrative fees in addition to fines
and penalties to re-instate your DL.
Penalties & Fines for Speeding in CA
California uses a point system to determine who can drive legally. Most
at-fault accidents and traffic offenses, including speeding tickets under
100 mph are worth one point. In addition to the point assessment, your
$35.00 fine for a speeding ticket for 1-15 mph over the limit will cost
you around $234.00, 16-25 mph over will cost around $380.00, and 26 or
more mph over up to 99 mph will cost around $490.00, plus a likely rise
in insurance premiums. Therefore, you should think twice before you just
pay your fine.
If you receive four points on your license in 12 months, six points in
24 months, or eight points in 36 months, your license will be revoked
or suspended, normally for a six-month period, with a concurrent one-year
probationary period, in which you may not receive a subsequent conviction
or at-fault accident without additional suspension time being added. One
exception to this rule is if you are convicted of speeding over 100 mph.
Speeding Over 100 MPH
22348 (b) prohibits speeding over 100 mph on CA highways and has special penalties.
According to this law, a first offense of speeding over 100 mph will result
in 2 points on your license, a fine up to $500.00 before state and county
fees, penalties, and assessments, which will bring the total to around
$900.00 before your insurance company raises your premiums, and your license
can and most likely will be suspended for up to 30 days if convicted.
Whether you refer to this as a suspension or a revocation, you will be
without driving privileges for 30 days.
Anyone convicted a second time for traveling over 100 mph, within 36 months,
the fine will be up to $750.00, and once again, state and county fees,
surcharges, and assessments will be added and now the law reads, "The
person’s privilege to operate a motor vehicle shall be suspended
by the Department of Motor Vehicles." A third offense within 60 months
or five years carries a fine up to $1000.00 without state and county penalties,
and that "shall be suspended" verbiage is again present. The
first thing most people notice when reading the penalties for a second
or third offense is they do not state how long your DL will be suspended,
which is usually left up to the discretion of the judge.
Can you imagine NOT having a driver's license in California? Most people
must drive to work, and many will continue to do so, risking more tickets
and fines because they feel they have no choice. A DL suspension always
seems to be the start of a downhill slide with legal troubles and life
in general. Now that you know just one speeding ticket could result in
your license being suspended or revoked, you can make choices based on
your new-found knowledge of the potential costs.
Bigger & Harman, APC
When you require assistance fighting a speeding ticket in Mono, Kern, Tulare,
Kings, and other Central Valley CA counties or in SoCal counties such
as LA, SLO, or San Bernardino, call the law firm of Bigger & Harman,
661-349-9300, send an email,
firstname.lastname@example.org, or fill out the convenient
contact form on the website.
En español, llame al 661-349-9755.