Assembly Concurrent Resolution (ACR) #65 was approved to curtail distracted driving in California and
declared April as distracted driving awareness month. This legislation
called on businesses, government agencies, schools, hospitals, and other
private and public institutions across the state to cooperate and publicize
the awareness program to its divisions and internal branches to raise
awareness of this growing problem through education and awareness.
California Office of Traffic Safety (COTS) conducted statewide survey it found that 36 percent of Californians
believed that cell phone use while driving posed the largest danger to
CA drivers. However, 45 percent stated that they had made a driving mistake
while using their cell phone, either talking or texting while driving
and 70 percent said they had been hit or were nearly hit by someone using
their cell phone while driving.
Additionally, according to
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) numbers about 80 percent of 18 to 20-year-old drivers think using
the phone while driving does
NOT affect their driving, but statistics show quite the opposite is true;
in fact, texting while driving increases your chances of being involved
in an accident 23 times that of undistracted driving.
Yet, how successful was the CA Legislature at reducing the number of people
texting or using their cell phone while driving?
Statewide Initiatives on Distracted Driving
The California Highway Patrol (CHP) officers set up distracted drivers
simulators, seatbelt challenges, and interactive booths at high schools
across the state, particularly 3-9 April, which was affirmed as Teen Distracted
Meanwhile, AT&T started an initiative directed at distracted drivers
called “IT CAN WAIT,” in which their President McNeely released
a statement, “We encourage everyone to take the IT CAN WAIT pledge
to keep your eyes on the road, not your phone, and help keep our roads
CHP officers were scheduled for and made appearances in schools and malls
across the state to promote awareness and to familiarize drivers about
the changes brought about by AB 1785 signed into law last September by
Governor Brown, from which sprang CVC
23123.5 and CVC
23124. The former makes it a violation for anyone to utilize hand-held electronic
communication devices while operating a motor vehicle, while the latter
prohibits the use of even hands-free devices by drivers under the age of 18.
Government officials are hoping that through raising awareness, rather
than handing out a lot of tickets, they can achieve the same results as
the seat belt law to raise hands-free use to 98 percent or more. But,
like seat belt use, it will take time to change the public’s attitudes
On the 5th and 19th of April, law enforcement officers across the state used the latter approach
and handed out tens of thousands of distracted driving tickets to motorists
in a concerted effort to crackdown on drivers who ignored the warnings
to put down their phones while driving. If convicted, those drivers will
pay about $165 if it is their first conviction or nearly $300 for second
and subsequent violations.
AT&T is right, whatever text or phone call is coming in, it can wait!
If you believe it can’t wait, pull over and park before answering.
Traffic Ticket Defense Lawyers
When you have questions about distracted driving or need legal assistance
for those or another ticket In Kern, Kings, or Fresno County, then call
Bigger & Harman, 661-349-9300 for a FREE phone consultation.
Do you have an arraignment in traffic court in Bakersfield, Delano, Tulare,
Visalia, Fresno, or any court in Central Valley? Even when your arraignment
is in LA, Email:
firstname.lastname@example.org to arrange an office visit.
En español, llame al 661-349-9755.