What Is a Moving Violation?
The definition of a moving violation varies little from state to state.
In California, it is any violation of the vehicle code occurring while
your vehicle is moving. Examples of this type of violation include running
a stop sign or red light, speeding, failure to yield, and many others.
“Fix it” tickets are normally not moving violations, things
like parking, taillights, or anything you need to fix. More serious violations
such as DUI’s, reckless driving, VC 22348(b) driving over 100 MPH,
and hit and run carry 2 points (3 if committed in a commercial vehicle).
Points are collected under the NOTS system and your license can be revoked
if you exceed the legal point count.
Irregularities of the Points System for CDL Drivers in California
A Chauffeur's license falls under the general category of CDL driver.
Restrictions vary between CDL levels, A, B, and C, but there are some
irregularities in the point system for all commercial drivers.
Per California DMV, a
CA CDL license is required to drive taxis, construction vehicles, city buses, shuttles,
and limousines. There are special endorsements required for school buses,
tankers and passenger buses. Any traffic citation issued while you are
operating a moving vehicle will carry a stiffer point penalty if you have
a CA CDL permit.
When an individual with a standard driver's license is issued a speeding
ticket, they are assessed one point. The same offense for a commercial
driver generates an extra ½ point. Situations where a collision
or accident resulted from a violation generate an additional full point
on your license.
Chauffeur's permits fall with the same classification as taxi drivers.
To be issued a chauffeur's license you must obtain a taxi permit and
have a complete driver's license history within the last 30 days.
The fee for this process is $106.
You must show your current CA driver's license, proof of your right
to work, submit a controlled substances screen test and be fingerprinted.
Your chauffeur's license designates you as a ‘driver-for-hire’
allowing you to operate any standard transport vehicle that carries less
than 10 passengers.
Points accumulated for CDL class licenses can put your job as a chauffeur
in jeopardy. There are also several
medical requirements according to California Highway Patrol (CHPs) to which CDL operators must
adhere. Losing your ability to drive because of a misstep could be devastating
and the laws can be difficult to understand, you will likely need expert
legal advice from a traffic ticket defense attorney.
If you've been issued a ticket for a moving violation in California,
contact Bigger & Harman today, call, 661-349-9300 or email
firstname.lastname@example.org to get expert advice on how to proceed. With knowledgeable counsel working
on your side, you stand a much better chance of keeping your chauffeur’s
job. Bigger & Harman practice only traffic ticket defense in Kern,
Tulare, San Bernardino, Inyo, Riverside, Los Angeles and other SOCAL counties.
En español, llame al 661-349-9755.