When you buy a t-shirt at the River Park Shopping Center or some other
mall in Fresno, you expect to pay some hidden costs, like the state and
local sales tax, as well as some indirect costs, like the price of the
gasoline you burned to get there and back. But these add-ons pale in comparison
to a California traffic ticket.
Every citation typically has
ten add-ons: six penalty assessments, one state surcharge, and three fees. Taken together,
these add-ons far exceed the fine. There are indirect costs as well, such
as the time off work spent dealing with the ticket and, even bigger, the
increased insurance premiums. Serious citations, like 100+mph speeding
or reckless driving, may cause rates to double or even triple, in some cases.
If you do not appear or pay on time, regardless of the reason, the state
automatically tacks on another fee and suspends your drivers’ license.
At $29 for every $10 in fines, California’s penalty assessments are
easily among the highest in the country. The only way to avoid paying
them, aside from ignoring your current citation, is to contact an experienced attorney.
It took over fifty years for penalty assessments to grow to where they
are now, so it is rather silly to think that the Legislature will erase
them overnight. The best approach is not to take on the world and try
to change the system, but to leverage your individual defenses into a
reduction in your specific case.
Getting Legal Help
The aggressive lawyers at Bigger & Harman, APC, are committed to giving
individuals a voice when dealing with speeding and traffic tickets. Call
today at 661-859-1177 or email
firstname.lastname@example.org to receive the personal professional attention you deserve. En español,
llame al 661-376-0214.