Unlicensed drivers in California are three times more likely to cause a
fatal crash than licensed drivers, according to a 2012 report.
DMV report studied crash data over a 23-year period, from 1987-2009. Although the
report was dismissive on this point, part of the issue may be the sheer
number of unlicensed drivers in California: undocumented immigrants have
not been able to obtain drivers' licenses in California since 1994.
Instead, the report pointed out that a majority of license suspensions
were due to safety issues, such as a DUI or medical condition, and such
drivers were inherently unsafe and should not have been driving in the
The report recommended that stronger countermeasures be employed against
drivers with suspended drivers' licenses.
Vehicle Code 14601, driving with a suspended license is a misdemeanor; a first offense is
punishable by up to six months in jail and a $1,000 fine. The state can
suspend your license for a number of reasons, including a conviction for:
A license may also be suspended without a DUI conviction or if the driver
fails to appear in court. There are also some administrative suspensions,
such as failing to pay child support, and some safety suspensions, such
as a medical condition. If you have any issues, contact a Bakersfield
attorney right away to help clear your license.