Many drivers make use of the California traffic laws that permit attending
traffic school in lieu of paying ticket fines, getting
points assigned to their license, and paying
higher insurance premiums. But that remedy isn't available in all cases.
Most states put a cap on the number of times you can use traffic school
as a way to avoid or remove points from your driving record, and California
is no different. The state allows drivers to attend traffic only once
every 18 months, and the speed at which you were traveling can be no more
than 25 mph over the posted limit. Also, if a driver was under the influence
of alcohol or drugs, they will be ineligible to attend traffic school
in lieu of points.
If you are caught speeding and are ineligible to attend traffic school,
the next best remedy is hiring an experienced traffic ticket attorney.
Tickets can be successfully defended and dismissed based on a numbers
of factors including the calibration of the radar, the weather conditions,
time of day and the driver's experience and past driving history.