California reckless driving laws fall under the California Vehicle Code
23013. This law defines reckless driving as driving on a highway or in
an off-street parking lot or garage in such a way that displays:
"willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property."
The California Vehicle Code for reckless covers a variety of actions. Determining
whether or not a driver receives reckless driving citation may involve
the police officer looking at several factors: excessive speeding, swerving,
or driving in any other manner without regard to public safety, as defined
by the law.
Penalties for reckless driving can include a jail sentence of five days
and a minimum $145 fine. The jail sentence could be as long as 90 days
and the fine up to 1000 dollars for more severe offenses. Reckless driving
garners two points on a driver's license and unlike a normal speeding
ticket, a reckless driving conviction does not automatically drop of after 3 years.
Reckless driving is a misdemeanor in California. Yet oftentimes in Bakersfield
this case can involve a simple spinning of the tires or other activity
that does not necessarily display a willful or wanton disregard for the
safety of persons or property.
If you are facing reckless driving charges, you should obtain qualified
legal counsel as soon as possible. Reckless driving charges carry criminal
charges with high fines and penalties. An experienced traffic ticket attorney
with a proven track record of success can help you get the fines and penalties
reduced, and may even be able to get the charges dropped in some cases.